Social Services

PUBLIC NOTICE

Effective March 20, 2020

Schedule is subject to change

The Conejos County Department of Social Services (CCDSS) will continue to operate under normal business hours but will have the following limitations in place:

  • Customers will not be seen in our offices and should phone in to our general number with inquiries about their case. If you do not have access to a phone or internet please notify our front desk receptionist. Lobby will remain open for document drop off only.  If you need someone to call you leave a number and message and we will have someone get back to you.
  • Interviews for Public Assistance will be conducted via phone call please ensure that CCDSS has a good contact number for you.
  • We are encouraging that all applications, recertifications, and changes for public assistance and child care should be reported via PEAK. https://coloradopeak.secure.force.com/
  • All cases of child/adult neglect should be called in to the Child Abuse Hotline( 1-844-CO-4-KIDS)
  • You can e-mail questions to your worker directly.

Director

Nicholas Barela

Nicholas.barela@state.co.us

Child Welfare Supervisor

Michelle Ferrera

Michelle.ferrera@state.co.us

 Child Welfare

Veronica Knecht

Veronica.knecht@state.co.us

Child Welfare

Christina Gylling

Christina.gylling@state.co.us

Child Welfare

Armando Manzanares

Armando.manzanares@state.co.us

Child Care/Child Support Supervisor

Christine Garcia

Christine.garcia@state.co.us

Child Support

Rosemarie Ruybal

Rosemarie.ruybal@state.co.us

Child Support

Jessica Suazo

Jessica.suazo@state.co.us

Child Care/Benefit Recovery

Alejandra Carreon

Alejandra.carreon@state.co.us

Eligibility Supervisor (Public Assistance)

Kayte Mora

Kayte.mora@state.co.us

Case Manager

Yolanda Deherrera

Yolanda.deherrera@state.co.us

Case Manager

Brandi Martinez

Brandim.martinez@state.co.us

Case  Manager

Cindy Silva

Cindy.silva@state.co.us

Case Manager

Rosa Cortez

Rosa.cortez@state.co.us

Case Aide

Jacob Acosta

Jacob.acosta@state.co.us

Case Aide

Nichole Martinez

Nichole.martinez@state.co.us

General Inquiries

Annette Martinez

Annette.martinez25@state.co.us

Accountant

Jessica Holtcamp

Jessica.holtcamp@state.co.us

  • Mail any documents to the: Conejos County Department of Social Services, PO BOX 68, Conejos, CO 81129 or drop-off during operating business hours.
  • Please take care of your issued EBT cards we may move to issuing by mail which can take 7-10 days.
  • Child Support payments are encouraged to be paid online
  • TANF eligible families who have experienced a loss of income due to COVID-19 may be eligible for our Conejos County Disaster funds contact CCDSS for details

Click here to download the official Public Notice 

Conejos County would like to keep you informed.  Click below for more information about COVID-19 Coronavirus.

CONEJOS COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES


Mission Statement

Conejos County Department of Social Services will strive to educate, motivate, and protect individuals
and  families in order to achieve self-sufficiency and secure a stable home environment. 

Vision Statement
People are our business. Together we can achieve our goal. 


Child Care

Conejos County offers Child Care Assistance.  See below income guidelines.  Please contact Christine Garcia at our main office for a list of providers or for questions regarding eligiblity. 

Child Support

Conejos County provides Child Support Services in obtaining financial support from non custodial parents. Please see information regarding our Parent Program.  For questions regarding Eligiblity contact Vanessa Tapia at our main phone number. 



Public Assistance

Conejos County offers financial, medical, and food assistance.  Information for each of these programs can be found on the Colorado Peak website or by contacting Kayte Mora at our main office.  We can also assist our community in other ways. This year we were able to help our school aged children by offering Back to School Care Packages. 

Mandatory Reporting

Are you a Mandatory Reporter?  Click on the below link to find out if you are required and to go through an online tutorial. 
http://www.coloradocwts.com/mandated-reporter-training

Adult Protection Services

Adult Protection Services investigates reports of abuse, neglect, and exploitation of at risk adults.  APS assists with resources and referrals to improve an at risk adults lifestyle and reduce their risk of neglect, abuse and exploitation.  Referrals can be made by contacting 719-376-5455.  After hours please contact State Patrol at 719-589-5807 and ask for the on call worker for Conejos County. 

Foster Care

Interested in becoming a Foster Parent?  Check out the following link. 
http://www.cofosterandadopt.org/

Are you interested in becoming a foster care parent in Conejos County?

Please contact any of the following:
Michelle Ferrera, Child Welfare Supervisor (Conejos) @ (719) 376-5455
Matthew Tulley, Foster Care Coordinator ( Alamosa) @ (719) 589-2581
Taylor Martinez, Foster Care (Alamosa) @ (719) 589-2581,   Annette Perea, Foster Care Supervisor (Alamosa) @ (719) 589-2581

LEAP

LEAP is an acronymn for Low-Income Energy Assistance Program that is designed to help eligible, low-income households with winter home heating costs.  LEAP is a mail in program and will not be administered at the Conejos County Department of Social Services.  All applications need to be mailed to Goodwill who will be processing these cases.  Their mailing address is: LEAP P.O. Box 39200, Colorado Springs, CO 80949.  

 

Child Welfare

Child welfare employees work directly with families to strengthen a family’s ability to protect and care for their own children, minimize harm to children and youth, and ensure timely permanency planning. When safety is not possible within the family, services focus on the child’s need for a stable, permanent home as quickly as possible. See the below chart to see the process of how Child Welfare calls are handled.


Contact Us

Department of Social Services

Director:
Nicholas Barela

Child Care/Child Support Supervisor:
Christine Garcia

Child Welfare/Adult Protection Supervisor:
Michelle Ferrera

Eligibility Supervisor:
Kayte Mora


Address:

PO Box 68
12989 County Rd. G.6
Conejos, CO 81129

Phone: 719-376-5455
Fax: 719-376-2389

Hour of Operation:

Monday thru Friday, 8:00 am to 4:30 pm (except holidays)

Contact Form