Due to the Covid-19 Virus and restrictions implemented by the Conejos County BOCC the Clerk and Recorder's Office will be closed to the public effective March 20,2020 until further notice. We will be working the office while we are closed, we can take payments for renewals by phone, or you can also drop off payments in our Election Drop Box in front of the Courthouse. If you have any questions please call (719) 376-5422
The Office of the Clerk and Recorder acts in an official capacity for two separate government agencies, as representative for both the State of Colorado and for Conejos County. As agent for the State Department of Revenue, the Clerk & Recorder's office is responsible for titling and licensing all motor vehicles purchased, leased or entering the State to any person residing within Conejos County. In this capacity, the Clerk and Recorder is accountable for the collection of all fees required by motor vehicle law, such as sales taxes and license and ownership fees.
In serving the citizens of Conejos County, the Clerk and Recorder's office shall be ex-officio recorder of deeds, property transfers, mortgages, plats, liens, judgments, chattels or any other documents presented for filing or recording. Equally important is the Clerk and Recorders function as the Chief Election Official of Conejos County pertaining to any primary, general or special elections. Additionally, this office issues marriage licenses and marriage certificates, liquor licenses within the County, and the Clerk and Recorder serves the Board of County Commissioners as Clerk to the Board
Yes, you can register to vote online at the link above.
No, you only have to re-register if you miss two General Elections in a row.
You can drop off your ballot at the Conejos County Clerk and Recorder’s Office at 6683 County RD 13 in Conejos. Other drop off locations in the County will be posted about three weeks before each election.
Conejos County moving forward will have to reduce the amount of Ballot Drop Off Locations. Starting in March the Sanford Drop Off Location will no longer be used.
The June Primary and November General Election will exclusively have the Conejos Courthouse and La Jara Town Hall as our only Drop Off locations.
Voters can always mail back their ballots or drop off at our two drop off locations. If you have any questions please call me or come into the office.
Conejos County Clerk and Recorder
Our fees are $13.00 for the first page and $5.00 for each additional page. The doc fee is a penny per hundred dollars true consideration.
Yes, our fees are $13.00 for 1 to 2 pages and $18.00 for 3 or more pages.
Board of County Commissioner Minutes
Marriage & Liquor License
Marriage License Information
The license may be issued only during normal working hours at the Office of the Clerk and Recorder. The license is valid anywhere in the State of Colorado for 30 days including the date of issue. License fee is $30.00.
Party one and party two must complete and sign the license application form. At least one of the parties must apply in person before the marriage clerk. If one of the parties cannot appear in person, he or she must complete an absentee affidavit and sign it before a notary public before it can be accepted by the marriage clerk. Applicants for a marriage license need not be Colorado residents.
If either party has been married previously, we will require the date, place and type of court where divorced. Those who have been widowed will need to supply the date and place of death of their former spouse.
Marriages are prohibited when one of the parties is still married to another person. They are also prohibited between brother and sister, uncle and niece, aunt and nephew.
A marriage may be performed by a judge, the parties of the marriage, or other public official authorized to perform marriages or in accordance with any mode or solemnization required by a religious denomination or Indian tribe or nation.
Both parties must be at least 18 years of age, or have a notarized form of Parent/Legal Guardian consent to the marriage, or a Court Order for any Party under the age of 16.
Blood tests are NOT required for either the party one and party two applicant.
Motor Vehicle Information
Vehicle Titles, Registration & Plates FAQ
Title and proof of insurance when buying from an individual. If vehicle is purchased from a dealer we need all the paperwork the dealer gives you. Valid identification.
$7.20 plus sales tax. $8.20 for duplicate title.
State is 2.9%
- Bill of sale or title
- Proof of Insurance
- Valid Identification
There are several different things that determine the cost to register a vehicle like the year, the weight, and taxable value. It is best to contact the County Clerk’s Office for a quote.
Colorado offers over 100 different plates. You can see all your options license plate options at www.colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/regular-license-plates
You will need the title (or the current registration if you’re Finance Company has the title), proof of insurance and valid identification. If vehicle is purchased from an out of state dealer we need all the paperwork the dealer gives you.
The fees to file a security agreements are $5.00 per page for 81/2 x 11, and/or $10.00 per page for 81/2 x 14 or longer.
The fee for a temporary permit is $7.08.
Motor Vehicle Forms
Clerk & Recorder
PO Box 127
6683 County Rd. 13
Conejos, CO 81129
Phone: (719) 376-5422
Fax: (719) 376-5997
Hour of Operation:
Monday thru Friday, 8:am to 4:00 pm (except holidays)